a panini valentines story…

so, i told adam sometime back, “make me this for valentines“. how he ever remembered, i will not know, but he did!

we had an extremely hectic valentines weekend planned: i hosted a party friday night, the ADDY’s on saturday and a chill/clean day on sunday (valentines). since we’re both on a budget, we vowed to keep it simple, nothing much at all. after waking up and getting the house in order, adam asks if i can stay in the living room for a while, that he was going to make my “valentine’s present”. i was perplexed, but of course said “yes”, and started to rack through my brain of what it could possibly be. bunuelos? no! eggs benedict? no! pancakes? no! tacos? no! gee, is it even breakfast? yes….sorta, no, well i dont know!!!

ok, ok, ok i would just wait!

about a half hour later, adam hollars from the kitchen, “you ready?” umm, of course!!! and in enters the valentine’s panini!! it was TO-DIE-FOR!!

valentine's monte cristo panini

valentine's monte cristo panini

valentine's monte cristo panini

i remember tasting a monte cristo once at a bennigan’s, (eww i know) it was ok – definitely unique, but completely over fried and greasy. this panini was perfect, jaw dropping, finger licking GOOD! when he first brought it out all i saw was the pastry and sugar. but once you take a bite you discover the succulent ham and swiss cheese that make this dish beyond superb! the salty and bold flavors you find in ham/swiss equals out perfectly with the sugar and jam that i’m almost at a loss for words.

i promise you, a monte cristo should not be missed, and if you have not had one…hurry out and get a panini maker and try it yourself!

adam – thank you so much for the scrumptious and thoughtful sandwich. i cannot believe you remembered after so long. and THANK YOU for the permanent panini maker we have now, many more delicious sandwiches to come!

stef

~ by hungryinhouston on February 19, 2010.

4 Responses to “a panini valentines story…”

  1. now that’s a valentine!! perfect LOVE story!!

  2. I have been reading your blog and would love recipes! Do you post them?

    • Hi Cristl! And thanks for reading. You know, I probably need to start documenting what goes into my meals… Problem is, I typically don’t follow recipes. I just “doodle cook” đŸ˜‰ If I do use a recipe, I usually modify it a lot for my own taste and will link to where I got the recipe from. Such as this panini, we linked to the source of the recipe: http://paninihappy.com/my-valentines-monte-cristo-panini/

      If there is anything specific you would like, I would be happy to share with you – and I will start tracking my recipes. Good idea because I usually forget how I made something!

      Thanks again!
      -Adam

  3. “doodle cooks”, eh?

    may well be the key of success…. you guys don’t just bounce, your enthusiasm ricochets off each other…. you cook according to your own entwined heart and soul, rather than by tradition…

    in a raw and untamed way, ur inspired and therefore, uniquely inspiring to the world around you… …it’s all yummy!!

Leave a Reply

 
