authentic grub at ruby’s

craving some late afternoon bites on the northwest side of town I remembered a little shack I saw at huffmeister & 290. I’d never checked it out until now, but the tarps advertising “24 hour tacos” seemed to permanently etch themselves in my mind. I was on my way.

walking up to Ruby’s, I’m impressed at how much I actually feel like I’m in small town Mexico. Tacky Catholic art, some caged parakeets and miscellanous fake plants.

we ordered some tacos and a gordita from the very sweet lady behind the counter.

the food was spot on!! Barbacoa taco was flavored perfect, so authentic and so tender! Pastor, fajita and lengua were as equally impressive. They had my beloved green sauce, they get major props for that.

i of course had to wash it down with a refreshing snowcone, made with real pineapple and cocnut juice! Mouthwatering!

definitely will be returning to this gem!

stay hungry houston,
-stef

~ by hungryinhouston on May 27, 2010.

3 Responses to “authentic grub at ruby’s”

  1. from the looks of this, they don’t skimp on ingredients either! a delicious and fabulous respite from houston without leaving houston! what a find! right on you guys!!

  2. LOVE ur blog…if i may suggest, please review more eatery on the nw side ,,,not to many blog do that ….keep up the delish job

  3. Thanks so much Stacy! We are out in that area quite a bit, so I will definitely get some more up out that way.

Leave a Reply

 
